Christmas Wedding at the Gingerbread Café by Rebecca Raisin

Christmas Wedding

   Well done Rebecca Raisin and congratulations on winning ‘Romantic Novella of the year 2014.

The first paragraph made me realize how Christmas was fast approaching us in real life so this novella came at the right time for me to read.  Rebecca’s description of the Christmas tree they baked made my mouth water and it was hard for me not to get up and see where I could buy some gingerbread.

I had a smile on my face when I read of Guillaume’s soft spot for CeeCee and she doesn’t even realise it, or maybe she does and pretends not to know!
My mouth also waters when Lil describes the croquembouche that CeeCee wants to make, which is different to the usual one.
The connection between Damon and Lil is amazing, but I felt Lil’s dread when she first met Damon’s parents, especially as it was unexpected and how Lil was dressed.
It is obvious what Olivia is up to, but that is not the way to get what you want.
The worse thing in any bride’s wedding is when others start taking over and change what she wanted for her wedding.  Will Lil survive all the changes happening around her, only time will tell.
I couldn’t help but smile when I found out how Lil’s makeup became a mess and what happened to poor Damon.
A wedding and a baby happening at the same time… which will come first!!
It was great to catch up and find out what happened to Sarah and Ridge from ‘The Bookshop on the Corner’ novella.
The minute Lil covers her mouth and rushes off to the bathroom, I knew straight away what was wrong… or maybe I thought I did…you really need to read this novella to find out.
The more I read about Olivia the more I did not like her, the problem was, something kept niggling me and I could not work out what it was and why maybe I should not pass judgement so quickly.
I felt the excitement when Lil tries on her wedding dress; Rebecca Raisin actually used the right words to help me see how beautiful Lil looked.
At last Olivia’s true colours are known and now I understand, no matter what people say, sometimes your past does impact on your future.
As I got towards the end of this fantastic Novella and read Damon’s Wedding Vows to Lil, I had tears running down my cheeks and could tell it was from his heart.
The way Rebecca Raisin ended this Novella was amazing, combining all the previous characters to give you a glimpse of their lives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rebecca Raisin, Reviews, Romantic Comedy

Leave a comment